CE Level 1 vs Level 2 Motorcycle Armour: Is Level 2 Worth It?
The 5-second answer
Level 2 armour must let less impact force through than Level 1 in the EN 1621-1 laboratory test. That is the whole difference the label certifies. It is not, by itself, a measure of how safe your jacket is.
Level 1
Level 2
Lower = less force reached the sensor in the test. Both levels are certified passes. Back protectors (EN 1621-2) use different limits — see the numbers.
A Level 2 protector has to transmit less force through itself during the specified laboratory impact than a Level 1 protector is allowed to.
A Level 2 protector is not, by itself, proof that:
- the jacket or trousers are certified as a garment (EN 17092)
- the protector fits you
- it will stay over the joint in a slide
- the garment covers the right area
- your injury risk falls by any particular percentage
Sometimes. It depends on the riding you do, the fit and coverage of the protector, your comfort tolerance and your priorities — not on the number alone. Seven riding cases give you a starting point; the one-screen summary is the short version.
What "Level 1" and "Level 2" actually mean
A performance level under a protector standard. EN 1621 is the European standard for motorcycle impact protectors (armor, in US spelling — the same standard is used worldwide). Part 1 covers limb-joint protectors; Part 2 covers back protectors. Each part has two levels.
A pass mark, not a score. "Level 2" means the insert stayed within the Level 2 limits when tested. It does not tell you by how much. Two Level 2 inserts can perform differently; so can two Level 1 inserts.
Earned by the insert, not the garment. The level belongs to the protector. The jacket around it is a separate question (see armour certification vs garment certification).
Specific to a zone. The label names the body zone the insert is certified for — for limb protectors, letters such as S (shoulder), E (elbow), H (hip), K (knee). Back protectors are covered by a different part of the standard with different limits.
The numbers, side by side
Limits, not results. A certified insert sits at or below its bar.
Never compare a back-protector figure with a limb-protector figure: 18 kN is a Level 1 back protector, but 18 kN would be well inside Level 2 for an elbow. Sources: SATRA (EN 1621-1:2012, EN 1621-2:2014 summaries); SAS-TEC certification notices.
What a kilonewton means in plain English
A kilonewton (kN) is a unit of force. As a unit conversion only, 1 kN is about the force gravity exerts on a 102 kg mass. That is not a description of what the test does, and it does not mean "the armour holds 102 kg." The test measures the peak force that passes through the protector during a dynamic impact lasting a few thousandths of a second.
1 · The impact arrives
A fixed amount of energy (50 joules) is delivered to the outside of the protector.
2 · The protector works
It absorbs some of the energy and spreads the rest over a wider area and a longer instant.
3 · What got through
A sensor on the body side records the peak force that reached it. That number is the transmitted force.
- Lower is better. The number is what got through, not how hard the striker hit.
- Passing Level 1 does not mean inadequate. It is a certified level.
- Passing Level 2 does not mean injury-free. It means the insert stayed inside stricter limits in one defined test.
- Some inserts beat their label by a margin. One Level 2 insert sold in Australia is advertised by its retailer as transmitting below 15 kN against the 20 kN limit. The label alone would not tell you that.
Why both a mean and a peak limit?
The protector is struck several times at different points. The mean limit stops a protector passing on the strength of one lucky spot; the peak (single-strike) limit stops one weak spot hiding behind a good average. A protector must satisfy both to earn its level. Manufacturer summaries of the standard describe nine impacts per test.
What the test actually does

- A 5 kg striker is dropped to deliver about 50 joules of energy (a drop of roughly one metre).
- The protector rests on a domed anvil shaped something like a joint.
- A sensor beneath the anvil records the transmitted force.
- Several strikes at different points: the average and the single worst strike must both stay within the level's limits.
- Tested at room temperature after conditioning. Hot (+40 °C), cold (−10 °C) and wet tests are optional extras, shown on the label as T+, T- and a wet marking.
Show the detail and the sources
MotoCAP describes the procedure it runs as "a five-kilogram weight dropped from a height of one metre" onto a protector "placed on a curved anvil shaped a bit like a knee." Its published protocol runs the EN 1621-1:2012 procedure at 23 ± 2 °C and 50 ± 5% humidity. Manufacturer summaries add a 40 × 30 mm striking face, a 50 mm-radius domed anvil and nine impacts. The 2012 edition moved the ambient test to 23 °C (from 20 °C) and requires impacts after hydrolytic-ageing conditioning — a heat-and-humidity soak intended to represent time in use. That is one reason pre-2012 armour should not be assumed equivalent to current Level 1.
What Level 1 or Level 2 does NOT tell you
A Level 2 label does not mean
- crash-proof
- injury-proof
- the jacket is "a Level 2 jacket"
- the garment is certified to EN 17092
- better abrasion resistance
- better fit
- better coverage
- it cannot move in a crash
- all Level 2 inserts perform the same
- your risk drops by a known percentage
A Level 2 label does mean
- the insert transmitted no more than the Level 2 limits in the EN 1621 test
That is a real, useful thing to know. It is just one thing.
Armour certification vs garment certification
Is a jacket with Level 2 armour a "Level 2 jacket"? No. There is no such thing. The level belongs to the insert. The garment has its own, separate certification question.

The impact protector
- Standard: EN 1621-1 (limbs) or EN 1621-2 (back)
- Level 1 or Level 2
- Answers one question: how much impact force passed through the insert in the test
The garment
- May carry its own certification — in Europe, EN 17092, with classes AAA, AA, A, B and C
- Answers a different question: how the whole garment performs — abrasion, seam strength, construction, where the protectors sit
- A jacket can contain certified inserts and carry no garment certification at all
When you buy, ask both questions separately: what level are the inserts? and is the garment itself certified, and to what? A CE-marked insert does not answer the second. The garment side is explained in our guide to CE, EN 17092 and CE armour.
Fit, coverage and staying in place
Why can a better protector protect worse? Because it can be in the wrong place. A Level 2 elbow insert that has rotated to the side of your arm is protecting your forearm, not your elbow.

Three things move armour off a joint:
- A garment that is too big. The pocket is sewn into the sleeve; if the sleeve rotates around your arm, the pocket goes with it. Buying a size up "for layering" is the usual cause.
- Sleeves the wrong length for your arms. Elbow pockets are positioned for a pattern's sleeve length. Shorter arms put the insert below the joint; longer arms put it above.
- A pocket that is loose around the insert. Common with aftermarket armour that is smaller than the pocket it goes into. The insert migrates.
Coverage is a separate factor from level. Labels mark coverage as Type A (reduced area) or Type B (full area). For the joints that hit the ground first — shoulder, elbow, knee — full coverage is worth having if the bulk is acceptable to you.
Motrox cuts its leather jackets to the rider's measurements at no extra cost. This section is the reason.
What real-world crash research says
Lab test
What a protector does under one defined impact, in a rig, at a set temperature.
Crash study
What researchers observed on protectors and injuries after real crashes.
Not the same thing
Neither one, alone, predicts what will happen to you in a future crash.
What the standard tests
Transmitted force under the EN 1621-1 impact described above — nothing else.
What crash research observed
The most direct study we know of is Australian. Albanese and colleagues (published in Traffic Injury Prevention, 2017) collected the clothing worn by riders hospitalised after crashes in New South Wales between 2012 and 2014. Of 62 riders, 19 had been wearing clothing with impact protectors — 76 protectors in total, 26 of which had actually been struck in the crash. Each struck protector was put through the EN 1621-1 test and compared with the rider's medical records.
- 96% of the struck protectors were CE-marked, and 83% met the EN 1621-1 Level 1 requirement.
- The study found "no associations between meeting EN 1621-1 requirements and impact injury." Four of the 26 struck protectors were linked to a fracture.
- Higher maximum transmitted force was associated with higher observed injury probability. In that sample, probability was high near 50 kN — the Level 1 single-strike limit — and below about 20% for protectors transmitting under 35 kN.
- The authors concluded the 50 kN limit "may be too high to effectively reduce the probability of impact injury" and recommended lowering it, noting that 77% of the protectors they tested already achieved under 35 kN.
What we can conclude
In one real-crash sample, lower transmitted force went with lower observed injury probability, and the CE mark by itself did not separate injured from uninjured riders. That supports paying attention to the actual force number — which is what the levels, and MotoCAP's scores, describe.
What we cannot conclude
- That any force value is a "safe" value. The study reports an association across a range, not a line.
- That Level 2 reduces injury by any percentage. The study did not evaluate Level 2 protectors as a group — very few riders were wearing them.
- That the association is causal. It is an observational study of 26 struck protectors and 4 fractures.
- Anything firm about back protectors. A 2016 systematic review (Ekmejian et al.) found only two small studies and concluded the authors "are uncertain about the effects" of back protectors on spinal injury.
Citations and sample notes
Albanese B, Gibson T, Whyte T, Meredith L, Savino G, de Rome L, Baldock M, Fitzharris M, Brown J. "Energy attenuation performance of impact protection worn by motorcyclists in real-world crashes." Traffic Injury Prevention, 2017 (PubMed 28383999). Ekmejian R, Sarrami P, Naylor JM, Harris IA. "A systematic review on the effectiveness of back protectors for motorcyclists." Scandinavian Journal of Trauma, Resuscitation and Emergency Medicine, 2016. "Association" means the two things were found together in the data more often than chance would suggest; it does not establish that one caused the other.
MotoCAP: what it adds, and what it doesn't prove
MotoCAP is an Australian rating programme, not a certification. It buys gear at retail and tests it; it is funded by a consortium of Australian and New Zealand government agencies and insurers. For armour, it runs the same EN 1621-1 impact procedure at ambient conditions — then scores the result together with two things the CE level ignores.
Force
How far below the 35 kN mean and 50 kN peak limits the insert performs. Lower force, more points.
Coverage
How much of the full-size (Type B) joint template the insert actually covers.
Stays in place
How much of the joint is still covered after the insert is pushed as far as it can move inside its pocket.
Impact score
Ranked 1 to 10. An insert at or above the Level 1 limits gets the minimum score.
These are separate contributors. A high-performing insert loses points if it is small or if it moves; a modest insert loses points if it transmits more force. Level alone does not decide the result. In a jacket's overall MotoCAP protection rating, impact protection counts for 30%, abrasion for 50% and seam strength for 20%; jackets are scored at the shoulders and elbows, and a missing required protector scores zero.
One worked example, one product. In a 2025 MotoCAP test, a leather jacket that earned five stars overall recorded shoulder armour transmitting 20.2 kN on average and elbow armour 19.4 kN — right around the Level 2 boundary — and scored 6 out of 10 for impact. Same test as the CE level; different question asked of the result. That is one jacket's result, not a rule about Level 1 or Level 2 inserts in general.
MotoCAP also publishes standalone protector scores out of 10 by body zone. In its 2025 best picks, D3O's Aero Pro Level 2 shoulder, elbow and knee inserts scored 10 out of 10. If you want to compare two Level 2 inserts rather than two levels, this is the only independent public source we know of that does it.
The formula as MotoCAP publishes it
From MotoCAP's Test and Rating Protocols (November 2021, v1): Impact Protection Score = ((35 − Fave) + (50 − Fmax)) × S × (0.5 + 0.5 × M), where Fave is the average transmitted force in kN, Fmax the maximum single-strike force, S the proportion of the Type B template covered, and M the proportion of coverage remaining after maximum displacement. A protector at or above 35 kN average or 50 kN single strike receives the minimum score of 1. The score is converted to a rank of 1–10. Injury-protection score for jackets and pants = (0.5 × abrasion) + (0.3 × impact) + (0.2 × seam burst). MotoCAP has rated armour inside garments since it launched in 2018. It is a rating, not a certification; a MotoCAP-rated garment is not thereby certified to any EN standard. The abrasion side of MotoCAP is explained in our gear laws guide.
Which level fits your riding? Seven cases
Level 2 is not automatically the right answer for every rider. The right choice depends on the riding you do, the fit and coverage of the protector, your comfort tolerance and your priorities.
ADVICE our editorial recommendation for this case · EVIDENCE directly supported by a standard or study · OPINION our judgement, not measured
1 · Daily urban commuting
Start with a protector you will wear every single day.
- Advice
- If a Level 2 insert is offered in the same garment at a comfort level you will tolerate daily, it costs little to choose it. If Level 2 bulk would make you skip the jacket on hot days, a certified, well-fitted Level 1 you always wear is a legitimate choice.
- Why
- The armour you leave at home transmits everything. Fit and retention decide whether either level is over the joint when you fall.
- Trade-off
- Level 2 inserts are often thicker (it varies by material); heat and bulk on short, hot trips.
- Evidence status
- ADVICE EVIDENCE fit and retention are scored factors in MotoCAP's protocol · OPINION "often thicker" is a market observation
2 · Highway / touring
Start by considering Level 2 at the limbs, and treat the back protector as its own decision.
- Advice
- Riders who want the lower transmitted-force limit usually choose Level 2 here. The back protector is covered by EN 1621-2 with its own levels — decide it separately.
- Why
- One Australian crash study associated lower transmitted force with lower observed injury probability. It did not test Level 2 as a group and does not set a "required" level for any speed.
- Trade-off
- Thickness over long hours; cost.
- Evidence status
- ADVICE EVIDENCE the association is observational (Albanese 2017) · "highway riding requires Level 2" is not claimed
3 · Frequent long-distance riding
Start with the Level 2 shape you can wear for eight hours.
- Advice
- Check for T+ and T- markings if you cross hot and cold conditions; consider a rated EN 1621-2 back protector rather than a foam pad.
- Why
- Duration turns small discomfort into removal. The temperature markings show the insert was also tested at +40 °C and −10 °C — optional tests, not all inserts have them.
- Trade-off
- You may need to try more than one Level 2 insert to find one that stays comfortable all day.
- Evidence status
- ADVICE EVIDENCE T+/T- meaning per SATRA · back-protector benefit: evidence is limited (Ekmejian 2016, "uncertain")
4 · Spirited road riding
Start by considering Level 2 at the joints that hit first, with full (Type B) coverage.
- Advice
- Shoulder, elbow and knee first. Prefer full-coverage inserts over slim ones where the garment allows.
- Why
- Coverage and position are scored as heavily as force in the one independent scoring system that publishes its method.
- Trade-off
- A full-coverage Level 2 insert is the bulkiest combination.
- Evidence status
- ADVICE EVIDENCE coverage and displacement factors, MotoCAP protocol
5 · Occasional / social riding
Start with fit. Either certified level is reasonable.
- Advice
- If the garment offers Level 2 for a small premium and it fits, take it. If the only Level 2 available fits badly, a correctly placed Level 1 is the better protector.
- Why
- Low exposure makes the cost and comfort trade-offs personal. Occasional riders also tend to keep one jacket for years — see the ageing item in the checklist.
- Trade-off
- Little downside either way if fit is right.
- Evidence status
- ADVICE OPINION "one jacket for years"
6 · Hot-weather riding where comfort decides
Start with ventilation and an insert that stays comfortable at 35–40 °C. Then the T+ marking. Then the level.
- Advice
- A Level 1 you wear in February is doing more than a Level 2 in the cupboard.
- Why
- The standard includes an optional +40 °C test precisely because some protector materials behave differently when hot. The T+ marking tells you the insert passed it.
- Trade-off
- You may give up the stricter limit for wearability.
- Evidence status
- ADVICE EVIDENCE T+ = +40 °C optional test (SATRA) · no specific material behaviour is claimed
7 · Maximum-protection priority
Start with Level 2, full coverage, T+ and T- marked, a rated back protector — in a garment that fits closely enough that nothing moves.
- Advice
- Then ask the separate question: what is the garment itself certified to for abrasion? The insert level does not answer it.
- Why
- Every published scoring factor points the same way: lower force, more coverage, less displacement.
- Trade-off
- Bulk, heat, cost. And "most protection reasonably available" is still not injury-proof.
- Evidence status
- ADVICE EVIDENCE each factor is in the standards and the MotoCAP protocol · the combination is our judgement
The master decision table
| Factor | Level 1 | Level 2 | What it means for you |
|---|---|---|---|
| Laboratory limit — limb protectors (EN 1621-1), mean | ≤ 35 kN | ≤ 20 kN | Level 2 must let less force through on average in the test |
| Laboratory limit — limb protectors, single strike | ≤ 50 kN | ≤ 30 kN | Level 2's worst permitted strike is lower |
| Laboratory limit — back protectors (EN 1621-2) | ≤ 18 kN mean · ≤ 24 kN peak | ≤ 9 kN mean · ≤ 12 kN peak | A different test with different numbers — never compare to limb figures |
| Test performance | Pass mark | Pass mark | Neither is a score. Two inserts at the same level can differ; MotoCAP scores tell them apart |
| Intended use | Any riding; often chosen for wearability, heat, slim fits | Any riding; often chosen for the lower limit, sustained speed, long hours | Both are certified levels; the choice is yours |
| Comfort, bulk, flexibility | Often thinner and lighter — varies by material and shape | Often thicker — modern viscoelastic inserts narrow the gap | Judge the specific insert in the specific garment, not the level |
| Thickness / weight — generic | Varies by product | Varies by product (one retail Level 2 example: 10 mm, 55 g) | Read the product's own specification |
| Thickness / weight — Motrox inserts | NOT VERIFIED | NOT VERIFIED | Not stated on the listings; we do not estimate |
| Cost | Baseline | Small premium when offered as an option at purchase; roughly $49–$79 AUD per pair or set in the retail examples we checked | Cheapest when chosen at purchase |
| Fit | Decisive | Decisive | An insert off the joint scores lower on every system, whatever its level |
| Coverage | Type A or Type B — check the label | Type A or Type B — check the label | Coverage is marked separately from level |
| Evidence limitations | One Australian crash study associated lower transmitted force with lower observed injury probability; it did not evaluate Level 2 as a group; back-protector evidence is limited | Neither level carries a proven injury-reduction percentage | |
| Relationship to garment certification (EN 17092) | None — separate standard | None — separate standard | A jacket is never "Level 1" or "Level 2" |
| Relationship to MotoCAP | MotoCAP runs the same impact test and scores force with coverage and displacement | A MotoCAP score can rank two inserts of the same level; it is a rating, not a certification | |
Australia: what the law requires
No Australian state or territory requires impact protectors of any level. The only garment rules are these: from 1 July 2026, New South Wales requires learner riders to wear an approved Class D/N hi-vis vest or jacket and gloves certified to EN 13594:2015, and requires P1 and P2 riders to wear certified gloves; Victoria has long required learner riders to wear hi-vis. Jackets, pants and boots — armoured or not — are recommended, not mandated, everywhere in Australia.
EN 1621 is a technical standard, not a law. Legal requirements are set by each jurisdiction and differ between countries; nothing in this box applies outside Australia. The full state-by-state detail, with sources, is in our guide to Australian motorcycle gear laws (see the NSW section for the 2026 change).
How the Level 1 / Level 2 option works on Motrox jackets
This is the one section about our own products. Prices are ours, in Australian dollars, checked 10 September 2026, and can change — the product page is always current.
We make the choice visible. On fourteen of our adult leather jackets the armour level is a dropdown on the product page — "CE Armour Class: Level 1 or Level 2" — with the same leather, the same cut and the same price whether you take a standard size or have the jacket made to your measurements. You are not left to buy Level 2 inserts separately and hope they fit the pockets.
Insert configuration: not yet verified. Our product listings describe "CE certified armour at the shoulders and elbows, plus a removable soft-plate back protector," with "two armour options available in the dropdown." The listing does not state an EN 1621-2 protection level for the supplied soft-plate back pad. The brand, thickness, weight and temperature markings of the inserts are not stated on the listings, and we do not claim them here.
| Motrox jacket | Level 1 | Level 2 | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Brando Leather Motorcycle Jacket – CE Armoured | $239.99 | $259.99 | +$20 |
| Café Racer Leather Jacket – Camden Black | $287.99 | PRICE UNDER REVIEW | — |
| Armoured Leather Motorcycle Jacket – Sentinel | $287.99 | $310.99 | +$23 |
| Brando Leather Biker Jacket – Vintage Classic | $287.99 | $310.99 | +$23 |
| Leather Biker Jacket – Century | $287.99 | $321.99 | +$34 |
| CE Armoured Black Leather Jacket – Onyx | $310.99 | $333.99 | +$23 |
| Leather Racing Jacket – Strike | $310.99 | $333.99 | +$23 |
| Leather Motorcycle Jacket – Legacy | $310.99 | $333.99 | +$23 |
| Armoured Leather Motorcycle Jacket – Pulse | $344.99 | $367.99 | +$23 |
| Unisex Leather Motorcycle Jacket – Challenger | $459.99 | $482.99 | +$23 |
| Leather Motorcycle Jacket – Flexius | $482.99 | $517.99 | +$35 |
| Leather Racing Jacket – Velocity | $528.99 | $551.99 | +$23 |
| Leather Motorcycle Jacket – Nomad | $574.99 | $609.99 | +$35 |
| Leather Racing Jacket – Velocity Pro | $620.99 | $643.99 | +$23 |
| Kids' armoured leather jackets (most models) | $349.99 | $395.99 | +$46 |
Some other Motrox jackets list "CE armour fitted" without a Level 1 / Level 2 option; we do not describe those as either level. Our Kevlar motorcycle jeans ship with CE-certified removable knee and hip armour; the listing does not state an EN 1621-1 level for those inserts, and we do not claim one.
If you have read this far and one of ours is on your list: browse the armoured leather jackets, or look at the Onyx for a classic cut with shoulder, elbow and back inserts. Choose the level in the dropdown; choose "custom-made" in the size list if you want it cut to you. And if you chose Level 1 after reading this, that was a legitimate choice too.
Buying checklist
- Standard and zone on the label. EN 1621-1 with the letter for the joint (S, E, H, K), or EN 1621-2 for the back.
- Level. Level 1 or Level 2 — and remember it is a pass mark, not a score.
- Coverage. Type B (full) for shoulders, elbows and knees where the bulk is acceptable to you.
- Temperature and wet markings if your climate needs them: T+ (+40 °C), T- (−10 °C), wet.
- Position. Sit on the bike, arms bent. Is the insert centred on the joint?
- Pocket fit. The insert should fill the pocket without play. Measure both before buying aftermarket inserts, and match the zone letters.
- The garment's own certification — asked as a separate question from the insert's level.
- Condition and replacement. Protectors can degrade. MotoCAP measured a 38% decrease in impact-energy absorption in one jacket's protectors after four years and about 40,000 km, and has found inserts that had crumbled to fragments. That is one observation, not a universal expiry date; follow the manufacturer's guidance, replace after a crash, and replace any insert that has gone hard, soft or crumbly.
Upgrading Level 1 to Level 2 in a jacket you already own
Usually possible if the garment has armour pockets. Measure the existing insert (length, width, outline) and the pocket. Choose a replacement certified for that zone. Check it fills the pocket without folding or rattling — a small insert in a big pocket is the displacement problem MotoCAP penalises. Australian retail examples we checked on 10 September 2026: a pair of SAS-TEC Level 2 shoulder/elbow/knee inserts (EN 1621-1:2012, Level 2, ambient and wet; listed as 10 mm and 55 g) at $49, and a four-piece Level 2 limb set at $79. Prices are retailers' on that day and will change.
The one-screen decision summary
Level 1 may make sense if
- wearability decides whether you wear the jacket at all
- heat or a slim fit makes a thinner insert the one you will keep in
- your exposure is short, low-speed and infrequent
- the Level 2 options available to you fit worse
Level 2 may make more sense if
- you want the stricter transmitted-force limit
- you spend sustained time at open-road speeds or long hours in the saddle
- maximum reasonable protection is your priority
- it is offered in your garment for a small premium at similar comfort
- Fit: the garment holds the pocket over the joint
- Correct placement: checked in your riding position, not in a mirror
- Coverage: full-size inserts on the joints that hit first, where bulk allows
- Garment integrity: the jacket's own certification is a separate question
- Inspection and replacement: after a crash, and when an insert changes
Still unsure? Start with your riding conditions, not the label.
Sources and how we checked
Standards summaries. SATRA Technology, "EN 1621 — Motorcyclists' clothing protecting against mechanical impact" (EN 1621-1:2012 and EN 1621-2:2014 requirement summaries: Level 1 limits, temperature tests, conditioning). SAS-TEC certification notices for EN 1621-1:2012 (Dec 2013) and EN 1621-2:2014 (Jun 2014) (Level 2 limits; 2012 revision changes). Sweet Protection help centre (test apparatus, nine impacts). Bennetts BikeSocial, "What's the safest motorcycle gear? CE ratings explained" (zone letters, Type A/B, T+/T-). SATRA names Level 2 for limb protectors but does not print its figures; three independent sources agree on 20 kN mean / 30 kN peak and none disagrees.
MotoCAP. Test and Rating Protocols, November 2021 v1 (impact procedure, scoring formula, weighting); "News on impact protectors or armour" (test description; armour rated since 2018; 38% degradation example); "Why riders shouldn't overlook their impact protectors," 8 August 2025 (degradation, positioning); "MotoCAP's best picks for 2025"; MotoCAP impact-protector ratings page; MotoCAP test report J25L17 (October 2025) for the worked example.
Research. Albanese et al., Traffic Injury Prevention, 2017 (PubMed 28383999). Ekmejian et al., Scandinavian Journal of Trauma, Resuscitation and Emergency Medicine, 2016.
Australian law. Government sources as listed in our Motorcycle Gear Laws Australia 2026 guide.
Retail pricing. Ben Buckler Boards (SAS-TEC SC-1/KCA2air Level 2) and SA1NT (CE Level 2 Limb Armour Set), checked 10 September 2026 — used for prices and listed specifications only.
Motrox pricing. Our own store data, 10 September 2026.
Conflicts we found. Some widely read articles print the back-protector limits (18/24 and 9/12 kN) without saying they are back-protector limits, and some omit the peak limits altogether; we have separated them throughout. A commonly quoted "replace armour every five years" rule has no source we could trace and is not used here.
Disclosure. Motrox Australia sells the jackets listed in the Motrox section above. We have not conducted impact testing of our own inserts and do not claim to have. Where we give advice or opinion, it is labelled as such.